Guest post recap of NOLCHA by Style Diversion!

Hello friends!

We recently ventured to the French Riviera/Barcelona, and I will be sharing our glorious adventures in a three part series here shortly.

Here’s a small preview.  For now, suffice to say the week was filled with champagne, french fries, and gorgeous beaches and definitely did NOT suck.

Well… traveling in the first week of September tho?  And missing NOLCHA and NYFW?  Well, that kind of sucks.  Luckily, my gorgeous friend and fellow blogger Style Diversion attended and wrote a guest blog for me.  Here it is below:

This year I was lucky enough to attend Nolcha Shows during New York Fashion Week. Insert face of disbelief here: I never would have dreamt of being someone who attended NYFW, but thanks to my lovely friend Kat (of Champs et Frites), I happily skipped along to attend!

 

Nolcha Shows is a series of shows for independent designers to showcase their new season collections to press, retailers and industry influencers. Nolcha has gotten a reputation for discovering and promoting cutting edge designers through its runway shows, and celebrated 10 years this fashion week!

I attended two Nolcha shows located at Industria (a cool warehouse space in the West Village):
All Comes From Nothing & W.Reflex.

 

 

 

 

 

 

All Comes From Nothing is a women’s collection, all about timeless pieces with an artistic edge that is designed to fit into your everyday wardrobe. I LOVED this collection – it was all about trench coats, cropped trousers, muted colors & sleek silhouettes. Each piece was just that little bit unique – you could see yourself wearing each of the pieces in your daily world but it wouldn’t be the same thing seen everywhere. I need to get my hands on some of these pieces ASAP for the upcoming Fall/Winter season!

All Comes from Nothing
All Comes from Nothing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next, I saw W.Reflex, a designer with a collection for both men & women. It was the brands worldwide debut, which is really cool to be there for! This collection was inspired by NYC loft culture, with modern silhouettes using raw materials such as leather, linen & cotton. The designer, Kris Wu, was also inspired by childhood, with ice-cream inspired colors & ribbons featuring heavily in his designs. What I loved most about this collection was the women’s collection was very gender-neutral – showing that traditionally menswear pieces can look great on women too! It gave me some great ideas on how to style some menswear pieces to my advantage!

It was an amazing day that left me with some serious inspiration for the upcoming Fall/Winter seasons, and it was great to discover some new designers & show support for indie fashion brands! Thank you Nolcha Shows for having an incredible lineup, and Kat for letting me fill in for you!

 

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

Leave a comment